11/20/21

Tim Kang
2 min readNov 21, 2021

--

Happy Saturday! My stint of nine consecutive work-free days has begun!

I don’t have anything planned, but random family outings might sprout up. (My dad, who has unlimited vacation days, also took the week off.) As of today, the Kang family has yet to eat their birthday lunch at HiroNori Ramen. We also need to prepare for our yearly Thanksgiving hot pot with some intense Asian supermarket shopping.

However, considering how reluctant my family members have been about going out, I might be stuck at home. This is even more true because my dad has a lot of big household tasks on his backlog (i.e. installing a roof awning for my mom’s succulents and deconstructing the non-adjustable bed frame in my room).

It’s true that I’d rather spend time with family, but I do have backup options. I placed a hold on Pokemon Shield last Friday after learning that Cupertino Library offers Nintendo Switch games. (According to the librarian I chatted with, the games are hidden from public shelves to prevent thievery.) Since all the kids are on break, local school campuses should be open for rollerblading even during the weekdays. And as always, I have lots of reading, TV shows, and movies to catch up on.

On a related side note, I noticed that most of my Google co-workers took off the week of 11/29 instead. Using that approach, they get 11 work-free days in a row. But they also miss out on three full days with their kids, so there are pluses / minuses to both.

PS: for my first movie of Thanksgiving break, I watched Red Notice (released November 2021)

--

--

Tim Kang

Hi everybody. I like food, Broadway showtunes, Pokemon and LEGOs. Oh, and I also do a bit of programming occasionally.