9/16/22

Tim Kang
2 min readSep 16, 2022

--

By taking a walk to Marukai at 1418 on Wednesday, I missed out on a rare opportunity to go shopping with my mom. At 1450, my brother Chris called home after locking his keys in his car. Mom immediately paused her daily Buddhist prayer and drove over to Chris’s girlfriend’s Sunnyvale office in our Lexus SUV to help.

On the way home, she stopped by a few stores on Hollenbeck Avenue. Among the destinations were Orchard Supply Hardware (she complained about its high prices) and 小劉清粥 Taiwan Porridge (she bought a bucket of xi fan / congee there for our dinner).

Anyway, just as I reached the West San Jose side of Alderbrook, Mom happened upon me and gave me a lift the rest of the way. While driving me, she confessed that she was sorry that I was in the wrong place at the wrong time and admitted that she has been rather cooped up lately.

At 1337 on Thursday, she decided to right things and invited me for a trip back to the OSH. She had changed her mind about a 15gal Pro-Cal plastic pot that was on sale and wanted to pick up a few. The Pro-Cal at OSH was not what she expected (aka 7gal vs 15gal) so she made no purchases, but she swung by both Home Depot and Summerwinds afterwards and made plenty of buys (~$300).

By the time we got home, it was 1509. None of the stores we visited that day were of any real interest to me, but I still had fun. When you’re stuck crunching code and killing bugs all day in front of a 27” LCD, being able to walk around and see new sights while socializing is a nice break.

--

--

Tim Kang

Hi everybody. I like food, Broadway showtunes, Pokemon and LEGOs. Oh, and I also do a bit of programming occasionally.